Chirag Shetty blasts the government of Maharashtra for felicitating cricketers.

Last week, the Government of Maharashtra felicitated the cricketers of Team India who were part of the T20 World Cup-winning team, which included captain Rohit Sharma, batsman Surya Kumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal. All of them get honored by CM Eknath Shinde. However, the shuttler of India, Chirag Shetty, has lashed out at the government for not treating all sports equally and highlighted how he was not honored for being part of the Thomas Cup-winning Indian team in 2022. 
Chirag said, “The Thomas Cup is equivalent to winning the World Cup. I was part of the Indian badminton team that won its maiden title, shocking Indonesia in the final. I was the only Maharashtra player on the Indian team. When the government can honor World Cup-winning cricket stars, they should have also recognized my efforts. The government should treat any other sport equally.”

Jul 8, 2024 12:16 PM