BCCI unveils the squad of Team India for the Asia Cup 2023

On Monday afternoon, the chief selector of team India, Ajit Agarkar, announced the squad for the Asia Cup in New Delhi. The announcement came after a selection meeting in which captain Rohit Sharma and head coach Rahul Dravid were also present. The press conference in which chairman of selectors Ajit Agarkar announces the squad is broadcast on Star Sports. It can be streamed on Hotstar as well.
Keeping the upcoming ICC ODI World Cup in mind, the performance of the Indian Cricket Team in the continental tournament, which will be played in a 50-over format this year, will be key to their chances at the mega event later this year at home. Major doubts remain regarding the fitness of KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer, both of whom have been recovering from thigh and back injuries, respectively. The fitness of pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has come as a good surprise in the three-match T20I series against Ireland, and he is likely to be a feature of the Asia Cup squad.
India Squad for Asia Cup 2023: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, M Shami, M Siraj, Prasidh Krishan, Sanju Samson (back-up keeper)


Aug 21, 2023 7:53 AM