B-Love Kandy defeat Dambulla Aura by 5 wickets in the LPL 2023 Final to clinch their maiden title

Dambulla Aura, who won the toss and decided to bat first, set the tone with a respectable score of 147/4 in their allotted 20 overs. Sadeera Samarawickrama scored 36 runs, and Kusal Mendis added 22 more. With 31 runs, Kusal Perera also contributed significantly. However, Dhananjaya de Silva's thunderous 40-run effort gave their DA innings a respectable total. The bowlers for BLK who excelled and restrained the Dambulla hitters were Chaturanga de Silva (2 wickets) and Nuwan Pradeep (1 wicket).B-Love Kandy's batting ability was on display as a response as they completed the run total in 19.5 overs with one ball remaining and posted a total of 151/5. Mohammad Haris (26 runs), Dinesh Chandimal (24 runs), and Angelo Mathews (25 runs) all made significant contributions to Kamindu Mendis' outstanding performance, which included a well-crafted 44 runs. The game was tense with to Dambulla Aura's superb bowling performance from Noor Ahmad (3 wickets for 27 runs), but BLK's Asif Ali (19 runs) secured the victory.For his overall effort, Mathews was chosen as the Player of the Match. His significant batting contribution and efficient bowling were vital to B-Love Kandy's triumph.With this thrilling triumph, B-Love Kandy won their first LPL championship under Wanindu Hasaranga's direction, creating a lasting memory in the history of the competition.It is important to note that Hasaranga was crucial to BLK's success. He finished the game as both the game's top wicket-taker and run-scorer. For his all-around effort during LPL 2023, the BLK captain even took home the Player of the Tournament honour.

Aug 20, 2023 6:08 PM