Australia wicketkeeper Matthew Wade will lead the team in the upcoming T20 series against India

Team Australia revealed their 15-player squad for the upcoming T20 tour of India, with wicketkeeper Matthew Wade named as captain.
Wade, who captained Australia on seven occasions between 2020 and 2022, will lead Australia in five T20 matches against India, which get underway after the ongoing World Cup.
The 35-year-old cricketer, who has not played international cricket since last year’s T20 World Cup in Australia, will be joined by World Cup players David Warner, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, and Sean Abbott.
George Bailey said in a statement that “it’s an experienced squad with a mixture of players who have had their first opportunity on the international stage and that we hope will continue to develop into important players in our T20 group.”
“Matthew has captained the team previously and is a leader in the group, and we look forward to him taking the reins for this series. Like Mitch Marsh in the South Africa series, this is another great opportunity to further deepen our international leadership experience and depth.”


Oct 28, 2023 5:08 AM