Australia announced their 2024 T20 World Cup squad

Australia announced their 15-player group for next month’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Some of the big names like veteran batter Steve Smith, young gun Jake Fraser-McGurk, experienced seamer Jason Behrendorff, and all-rounder Matt Short all missed the cut as the 2021 T20 World Cup champions sprung some surprises when revealing their squad for the four-week tournament in the West Indies and the USA.
Despite not having played a T20I since the last T20 World Cup on Australian soil in 2022, left-arm spinner Ashton Agar wins a recall, while Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, and Cameron Green join Glenn Maxwell in the final squad as all-rounder options.
Mitchell Marsh will captain the team, with his promotion to full-time T20I confirmed by Australia alongside the squad announcement.
Australia open their T20 World Cup campaign against Oman in Barbados on June 5, before Group B fixtures against England, Namibia, and Scotland.

Australia squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa



May 1, 2024 4:27 AM