As WPL is back, last year’s finalists, MI and DC, lock horns in Bengaluru

The highly anticipated Women’s Premier League returns for its second season, kicking off with a blockbuster clash between last year’s finalists, the Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals, at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Friday, February 23rd.
Fans still remember the electrifying atmosphere of the WPL 2023 final, where Nat Sciver-Brunt’s match-winning four secured MI’s historic victory. Now, both teams are eager to create new memories and start their campaign on a winning note.
MI has retained its core, boasting experienced stars like Hayley Mathews, Nat Sciver-Brunt, and Harmanpreet Kaur.
They’ll rely on their strong batting lineup and the bowling prowess of Issy Wong and Saika Ishaque. New additions like Shabnim Ismail and the young Indian talents add further depth.
DC, led by the ever-reliable Meg Lanning, has bolstered its middle order with the big-money buy of Annabel Sutherland.
The top three—Lanning, Shafali Verma, and Jemimah Rodrigues—hold the key to their success, while Marizanne Kapp and Titas Sadhu lead the bowling attack.
Both teams possess a blend of experience and youth, making this match a thrilling prospect. MI’s familiarity with each other could be an advantage, but DC’s hunger for revenge and strategic additions cannot be ignored.


Feb 23, 2024 3:49 AM